UCLA Jifresse Home Page
Home > People > Governing (Collaboration) Board

Governing (Collaboration) Board

Meet the members of the JIFRESSE Governing Board (also known as the Collaboration Board).

Dr. Rudnick

Joseph A. Rudnick

Board Chairman. Dr. Joseph A. Rudnick is the Dean of the Division of Physical Sciences and Professor of Physics in the UCLA College of Letters and Science. His doctoral degree is in condensed matter physics from the University of California at San Diego. His research interests include: Polymers and random walks; Statistical mechanics of finite systems; Textures and domain shapes in two dimensional systems; and, the physics of disordered systems, and topics in biological physics. Dean Rudnick has served two terms as Chair of the Department of Physics and Astronomy.


Dr. MccleeseDan McCleese

Board Co-Chairman. Dr. McCleese is Chief Scientist for the Jet Propulsion Laboratory. He received a Fulbright Scholarship to study Atmospheric Physics at Oxford University where he received a Ph.D. degree. Since 2000, Dr. McCleese has been a Visiting Associate in Planetary Science at California Institute of Technology. Dr. McCleese is currently the Principal Investigator for the Mars Climate Sounder now in orbit about Mars in a two-year study of weather and climate of the planet. He is an expert on Mars and from 1994 to 2006 has served as JPL's Chief Scientist for Mars exploration.

DrEconomouJames Economou

Dr. Economou is Vice Chancellor for Research at UCLA and the Beaumont Professor of Surgery and Chief of the Division of Surgical Oncology. He received all of his education from the Johns Hopkins University and joined the UCLA faculty in 1986. Vice Chancellor Economou has joint appointments in the Departments of Microbiology, Immunology and Molecular Genetics, and Molecular and Medical Pharmocology. His research interests include DNA and dendritic cell-based cancer vaccines. For more information, please see the website for the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research: http://ovcr.ucla.edu/strategic-research.html

Dr. Dhir

Vijay Dhir

Dean, Henry Samueli School of Engineering and Applied Science, UCLA. Dr. Dhir is Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering and became Dean of the Henry Sameuli School of Engineering and Applied Science in 2003. He received his doctoral degree in mechanical engineering from the University of Kentucky in 1972 and joined the UCLA faculty in 1974. Dean Dhir has received numerous professional awards, honors and distinctions and, in 2006, was elected to the National Academy of Engineering. Dean Dhir has conducted pioneering research in fundamental and applied sciences involving boiling, and nuclear reactor thermal hydraulics.

DrZmuidzinasJonas Zmuidzinas

Dr. Jonas Zmuidzinas is Chief Technologist at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory and the Merle Kingsley Professor of Physics at California Institute of Technology. He received his doctoral degree in physics from the University of California at Berkeley in 1987. Dr. Zmuidzinas has held a joint appointment as JPL Senior Research Scientist since 2006 and served as Director for the JPL Microdevices Laboratory in 2007-2011 before moving into his current role as JPL Chief Technologist. His research interests center on astrophysics at submillimeter and far-infrared wavelengths.


Dr. EvansDiane Evans

Diane Evans, Ph.D., serves as Director of the Earth Science and Technology Directorate at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory. Her Ph.D. is in geological sciences from the University of Washington. Dr. Evans' scientific work is in the study of the Earth using airborne and spaceborne synthetic aperture radar aboard aircraft and spacecraft. She had held several administrative positions at JPL prior to assuming the senior leadership role in the Earth Science and Technology Directorate in 2001.